Just a Quick Update!

Hi Everyone! I know the blog has not been updated for sometime and I apologize. Daily life, as well as recuperating from a recent surgery, have put some things on the back burner. To make things a bit easier on me (as well as easier for you to contribute good news on Upper Marlboro), I’ve decided to change the look of the blog. Less text and more pictures, video, photos and audio snippets: evidence of the good things we’ve got going on!

In the last year or so, I’ve met some really great people doing great things in Upper Marlboro, Prince George’s County and the state of Maryland! I got a chance to talk to the great creative couple behind The Write House, an education and literacy non-profit based in Upper Marlboro. Over the summer, I even got a chance to view the christening and cruise the National Elite charter yacht at National Harbor, where I not only caught a glimpse of Lt. Governor Anthony Brown and his wife, but also met the fantastic and hardworking woman behind the PGC Blog, Cheryl Ingraham!

So, things will be changing here and I hope that you’ll continue to join me in spotting and highlighting all the good in Upper Marlboro. In fact, I would love to see your view of early voting in Upper Marlboro! Got any pics, audio or video of people helping people?

But MOST IMPORTANTLY, please also look out for yourselves and your neighbors in the face of the coming Hurricane Sandy, expected to hit the Eastern Shore and effect our area. As I was coming back from a trip to Virginia this weekend, I saw a lot of support truck from other states heading to the DMV, so we have lots of people that will be working hard to get us back up and running! Keep an eye on MEMA’s website and local news outlets for emergency information and closures.

Peace!

Aisha

